Blockchain for online worldwide experimentation

I want to share my vision on how blockchains may be applied to the idea of sharing (science/engineering) labs for both education and research.

If someone would be interested in working with me and a PhD. student I have in this, please let me know and I’ll share more details with you, as I and Tadashi already have defined a first draft for the smart contract specification. Even if you don’t, comments and suggestions are most welcome.

I have been working on Online Labs (OLs) for more than 10 years. Even though they have some advantages over traditional labs (for example: safety -for dangerous experiments-, 24/7 availability, they can be used in case of pandemic, universities can offer other institutions’ labs they might not have on their own, etc.), they haven’t seen much adoption yet. I am not talking about adopting OLs as a replacement to traditional labs, of course, but as a complement. You can use them as a preparatory lab session before the traditional lab session, or afterwards, to repeat experiments that you may have done incorrectly for a variety of reasons (calibration problems, a wrong procedure, lack of time in the lab, etc.). Also, you could use them when the university you (as a student or as a researcher) belong to doesn’t have the lab equipment/facilities required to perform that particular experiment.

For those who need it, here is a rather old, but still valid, short introduction to online or remote labs: https://remotelaboratory.com/remote-laboratories/what-are-remote-laboratories/